Broadway Plan

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
Elevated view looking west along Broadway.

In March 2019, we launched a planning process to create a comprehensive community plan for the area within Vine Street to Clark Drive and 1st Avenue to 16th Avenue. The 30-year plan will focus on opportunities to integrate new housing, jobs, and amenities around the new Broadway Subway. This webpage provides a one-stop location where you can learn about the Broadway Plan, provide your feedback and stay up to date on engagement opportunities.



Give your feedback about the Phase 3 Refined Directions

How should Kitsilano, Fairview, and Mount Pleasant grow and change around the future Broadway Subway over the next 30 years? The Refined Directions propose how the area may evolve in the future. We'd like your feedback on:

  • 3D elements of the plan and building heights
  • Draft public realm framework
  • Housing and job estimates
  • More details on some area-wide policies like housing, jobs, transportation, community well-being, arts, culture and music, heritage and public benefits


Ways to get involved

Get the highlights


Read the detailed Refined Directions content

Complete information boards (104 pages)


Attend the open house

Drop by 511 W Broadway in person to review the materials and ask us a question.


Ask

Ask a question

Ask us in the "Questions" tab and we'll reply within 2 working days and send you an email notification.


Contact a planner

Sign up for our office hours if you have a question or comment you'd like to share with us.

Office hours (every Monday at select times)


Respond

Take the online survey

Give feedback about the policy topics and places that matter to you. Your feedback will help shape the next steps of the plan.

Take the survey


Attend a workshop

Register for a 2 hour workshop to provide your feedback about your neighbourhood, public life, or being a renter.

In March 2019, we launched a planning process to create a comprehensive community plan for the area within Vine Street to Clark Drive and 1st Avenue to 16th Avenue. The 30-year plan will focus on opportunities to integrate new housing, jobs, and amenities around the new Broadway Subway. This webpage provides a one-stop location where you can learn about the Broadway Plan, provide your feedback and stay up to date on engagement opportunities.



Give your feedback about the Phase 3 Refined Directions

How should Kitsilano, Fairview, and Mount Pleasant grow and change around the future Broadway Subway over the next 30 years? The Refined Directions propose how the area may evolve in the future. We'd like your feedback on:

  • 3D elements of the plan and building heights
  • Draft public realm framework
  • Housing and job estimates
  • More details on some area-wide policies like housing, jobs, transportation, community well-being, arts, culture and music, heritage and public benefits


Ways to get involved

Get the highlights


Read the detailed Refined Directions content

Complete information boards (104 pages)


Attend the open house

Drop by 511 W Broadway in person to review the materials and ask us a question.


Ask

Ask a question

Ask us in the "Questions" tab and we'll reply within 2 working days and send you an email notification.


Contact a planner

Sign up for our office hours if you have a question or comment you'd like to share with us.

Office hours (every Monday at select times)


Respond

Take the online survey

Give feedback about the policy topics and places that matter to you. Your feedback will help shape the next steps of the plan.

Take the survey


Attend a workshop

Register for a 2 hour workshop to provide your feedback about your neighbourhood, public life, or being a renter.

Do you have a question about the Broadway Plan?

The Broadway Plan team is happy to answer any questions you may have about process, timelines or engagement. Please send us a question and we'll get back to you within one business day.

Note: If you have a question about the Broadway Subway, please contact the Province of British Columbia's project team which is responsible for the station design and construction. If you would like more information about the Broadway Subway Project visit broadwaysubway.ca or email broadwaysubway@gov.bc.ca 

loader image
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password. Forgot your password? Create a new one now.
  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Any thoughts on widening and re landscaping the Laurel street land bridge as the traffic volumes are increasing. The water fountain has turned into a gathering area and could possibly be upgraded? Any thought on the land use now used for parking under the land bridge? The traffic loop/park at the SW corner of Cambie bridge is rarely used. Some consideration should be given to returning it to the grid, stitching it into the city fabric and better public use of that land. 6th Ave (the barrier) sucks.

    Gordo asked 13 days ago

    Hello Gordo,

    Thanks again for your question. I recall you asked this one during the workshop and happy that you followed up here. As part of the public realm framework and Greenway priorities it may be safe to say that we’re looking at improving connectivity while enhancing green space along this alignment (gathering area + land bridge). At this point, we don’t believe there would be any plans for widening but the spaces could better designed. However, it is possible that the city may consider widening when/if the land bridge comes to the end of its life. 

    With respect to your question regarding the traffic loop/park at the SW corner of the Cambie Bridge: it looks like the geometry of the Cambie off-ramp area and the turning movements that need to be accommodated at 2nd/6th Ave make it challenging to normalize the road. So for now, there aren’t any plans to make any changes there. Your point about it being stitched back into the city fabric is well received and staff are aware of this suggestion.

    Thanks for staying so engaged with Broadway during this time. We hope to see you again at future workshop sessions!


    Andrew

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    It was mentioned at the Refined Directions Engagment session on Nov 16th, that the reason for the heights of 20-30 storey buildings (or higher), is driven by a 3rd party economic study, that shows heights of this buildings are needed to be economic viability. Can this detailed analysis be shared publicly, so that this could be understood. Does this economic model include the cost of land acquisition (and land lift), hence the basis of the height is driven by a land parceling and developer economics?

    CJM asked 16 days ago

    Hello CJM,

    Economic testing and analysis with our consultant is ongoing and this work will continue as the Broadway Plan policy work progresses. Once completed, background on the analysis and findings will be summarized and made available to the public.

    Generally, our economic analysis informing the proposed land use policy does not assume land acquisition costs greater than current land values for the area. The approach for land valuation in the testing is based on the current value of land, informed by value of existing buildings on site and/or building allowances under zoning.

    Best,

    Andrew

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    What about the civil plans? Dog Parks/ playgrounds, daycares, schools, preschool centres. Thanks

    asked 3 days ago

    Hello there,

    The Broadway Plan is going to be looking at a range of public benefits (amenities and needed community services) like those you mentioned above. The Public Benefits Strategy (PBS) chapter of the latest "Refined Directions" phase  will establish the key priorities for new and renewed amenities and infrastructure to support growth and livability, covering a range of services including parks, childcare, cultural facilities, community centres and many others. The PBS budget will account for the developer contribution revenues that are expected, including CACs, that can fund new or expanded projects. More precise details on this PBS will be shared as part of the draft plan in the spring of 2022. In the mean time, I would encourage you to review the boards that outline many of these details here: https://syc.vancouver.ca/projects/broadway-plan/redefined-directions-complete-boards.pdf?_ga=2.106091843.1339397256.1638216049-1804156547.1628179612 

    Best,

    Andrew

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    What data, traffic studies and projections show that a 33% decrease in Broadway street capacity is feasible?

    Ferg asked 3 days ago

    Thank you for your message. The curb lanes that would be reallocated to public space are currently bus lanes during peak hours, when traffic volumes are the highest. With the introduction of the subway, the 99 B-Line will be removed. While local buses will still operate on Broadway, there will be a significant reduction in the number of buses on this corridor as the B-Line currently operates ever 2-3 minutes during peak hours. Therefore, reallocating the curb lanes won’t actually be removing the street capacity by 33%. Furthermore, with the subway being a higher capacity and much more reliable and convenient transit option than the 99 B-Line, our experience from past rapid transit projects is that more people will choose to use transit. The traffic analysis that has been done estimates there would be an approximately 15% reduction in overall traffic on Broadway.  As a result, it is feasible to reallocate the curb lanes to public space. 

    Best,

    The Broadway Plan Team

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    How will the VGH flight path affect heights in the Fairview Slopes area? Would proposed heights be unfeasible with the flight path? Does the steep nature of the slope allow for higher buildings as you move toward the water? For example on 8th Avenue vs. Broadway at Laurel Street.

    Justin asked 3 days ago

    Hello Justin,

    We're certainly aware of the VGH flight path and using it to inform our height restrictions in the study area. The current proposed ranges in the latest Refined Directions reflect these requirements. Generally speaking, the steep nature of the slope does permit taller buildings than what exists now. However, the Refined Directions propose only a modest increase to support an incremental pace of change to support renewal of aging buildings while also maintaining the area's character. 

    I trust this helps answer your question,

    Andrew

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Are you considering available elementary school capacity in the Broadway plan?

    MDvan asked 4 days ago

    Hello MDvan,

    Yes, we are considering available elementary school capacity when we're planning.  Our team is working closely with the VSB on this issue and sharing key information about housing and job estimates to inform their planning for the area and funding requests for new or expanded schools. In the VSB’s Long Range Facilities Plan (2021), they have requested capital funding for new and expanded schools near or within the Broadway Plan area. Expansion requests include Henry Hudson Elementary (Kits), False Creek Elementary (Fairview), Edith Cavell Elementary (South Cambie). A new school has also been requested for the Olympic Village. Should those funding requests be fulfilled, that would help address school capacity in portions of Broadway.

    I hope this helps answer your question,

    Andrew

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    How did you arrive at the definition of "affordable housing" and why does a family of 4 or 5 have to live in an 830 sq ft apartment.

    Ferg asked 6 days ago

    Hi Ferg,

    Thanks for your question. A widely used measure of affordability is to pay 30% or less of a household’s total income on housing, however in practice defining affordable housing is highly context-specific with different jurisdictions and organizations defining affordable housing to meet their specific housing goals. In Broadway Plan we are looking at affordability as it relates to incomes, seeking to provide a range of housing choice affordable to the actual renter and owner incomes in Vancouver with a focus, as directed by Council, on rental (market and below-market) and non-market housing. 

    With respect to unit size, the City of Vancouver's is updating its family housing guidelines. More updates to come on this in the future. 

    Andrew


  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Have you read the Six Myths About High Rise Apartments? https://www.westonweb.ca/six-myths-about-high-rise-apartments/ How do you plan to address the issues raised in this document?

    bmcneill asked 8 days ago

    Hello mcneill,

    Thank you for sharing this with us. I will be sure to share this link with others on the team.  

    We will ensure that taller buildings integrate with neighbourhoods by developing built form guidelines that will provide direction on how individual projects should be designed to ensure livability, contextual fit and a high quality pedestrian realm. They’ll cover issues like height, massing, tower spacing, setbacks, access to views and light, architecture approaches and materials. The City of Vancouver is known for best practises when it comes to this regard and we will build on this success through out future planning work.

    Best,

    Andrew

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I attended the Thur 18 Nov Broadway Plan Mount Pleasant workshop. Thanks for hosting that. Had I an unanswered question. During the planning process, there is no background information on how a neighbourhood plan fits in context with other plans around the city. For example, the Mount Pleasant section of the Broadway plan is expected to take on a population increase of over 50%. This is being accomplished by adding 15-20+ storey towers through large areas of the neighbourhood - arguably changing the nature of the neighbourhood. My question is: are their other neighbourhoods such as Kerrisdale, Dunbar, Arbutus that are also seeing 50% increases in population along with 15-20+ storey towers. Without the background context of our neighbourhood plan alongside the other neighbourhood plans, we have no way of knowing if we are taking on a higher burden of densification than other neighbourhoods

    Mark Stoakes asked 10 days ago

    Hello Mark,

    Thank you for attending the workshop – it was a pleasure having you and your neighbours help inform this important phase of the plan. 

    The Broadway Plan study area is a highly central location within the city and region that is going to be connected and accessible by transit. It is also currently the second largest major concentration of jobs, shops and services. Introducing higher density development in this area means that we can take advantage of the transit investment, address some of the current needs for housing and job growth, and create a more sustainable pattern of development.

    It is important to note that we are not proposing increasing Mount Pleasant by 50%. Additionally, it is important to clarify that the growth numbers are not population projections. These are housing and job estimates on what we think could be accommodated within Broadway over a 30-year time horizon, based on the Refined Directions policies. The actual realized growth rates will rely on a number of factors outside the scope of the Broadway Plan:  including development industry capacity/interest, population and migration trends in the region, the desirability of living and working in Broadway, and allowances for growth (or lack thereof) in other areas of the city or neighbouring municipalities that impact demand in Broadway.

    When it comes to your questions about other neighbourhoods: The Vancouver Plan is currently being developed in coordination with a number of programs (like the Broadway Plan). This long term city wide plan will help unify and prioritize future directions for how the city and other neighbourhoods will grow and change in the future. I would encourage you to learn more about this plan and how you can get involved by visiting their website https://vancouverplan.ca/ . 

    Thanks for asking us this important question.


    Andrew

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I attended the Mount Pleasant workshop on Thurs 18 Nov. Thanks very much for hosting that. I had a question that wasn't really answered at the time: Community Amenities Contributions: I asked why this was not more transparent at the time of planning. The answer was that these are presented to the board when the plan is approved. But I think that these contributions should be made available during the planning process so that the communities can see how much is being raised in their neighbourhood and then how that money will be spent - IN THEIR NEIGHBOURHOOD. I raise this issue because I believe that the cities operations and budget are now dependent on these contributions, and they are no longer specifically targeted to the neighbourhood where the development is occurring.

    Mark Stoakes asked 10 days ago

    Hi Mark,

    Thank you for the question. CACs and the projects they are allocated towards in a given neighbourhood will be guided by the Broadway Plan Public Benefits Strategy (PBS). The PBS will establish the key priorities for new and renewed amenities and infrastructure to support growth and livability, covering a range of services including parks, childcare, cultural facilities, community centres and many others. The PBS budget will account for the developer contribution revenues that are expected, including CACs, that can fund new or expanded projects. For Mt. Pleasant, the Broadway Plan PBS will review and update the existing PBS for the area that was approved in 2013. More specifics on the PBS, including both costs and expected developer contributions, will be shared with the draft plan in 2022.


    CACs can be both cash or in-kind, i.e. a new public facility is built as part of a new development. CACs are offered through rezonings, and when a rezoning application goes to Public Hearing the specific CAC contributions and what they will fund are outlined in the staff report. As well, the City annually provides a comprehensive report on CACs that are secured through rezonings, outlining the amount of secured cash and in-kind contributions and the service categories/projects they are allocated towards. Here is the report for 2020 – see Appendix B for specific CACs secured by neighbourhood including Mt. Pleasant: https://vancouver.ca/files/cov/annual-report-community-amenity-contributions-and-density-bonusing-2020.pdf 

    I trust this answers your question,

    Andrew

Page last updated: 04 November 2021, 12:05